Art Quilter Pictures

By friedaquilter

What comes around, goes around

Here it is! My 7th Blip Anniversary following hot on the heels of my recent 2500th blip. I'm celebrating with a set of mandalas in my art journal and if you are interested you can find out more about them by checking out my blog.
When you jump on a circle you have no choice than to keep on going and see where it takes you. Putting up my very first picture on Blip was a very similar adventure. I have added that first picture as the extra today. I began on the 30th November 2010 as the result of reading a small notice in the Scotland on Sunday newspaper.
I have no idea any longer what possessed me. At the time we were on a dial-up connection of 44Kb (yes, really!) and it took forever to post. My very first Blipfoto was sized 94Kb and taken with a small point and shoot Lumix camera that gave up the ghost soon after when I dropped it in the snow. I continued blipping using a more up-to-date Lumix, and also occasionally using my old but digital Canon DSLR. The next step was a Canon SX50 bridge camera (I took today's pictures with that one) and then I progressed (or should that be regressed) to using an iPhone 6+. The quality of the pictures taken by the phone are somewhere in between the Lumix and the Canon. The main reason is the utter convenience as the phone is always with me.
Taking a daily picture has become so much part of life that I no longer give it much thought. My camera (in whatever form) is with me and I am constantly on the lookout for pictures, that is when I'm not using images of my art. Being on Blipfoto has honed my eye even more than it was before and being a blipper has enriched the way I see the world.

I need hardly add that I will continue blipping with the additional blessing of now having fibre-optic broadband at home. What a difference it has made but the fact that I persevered despite the difficult conditions in the early days signifies that the desire was there from the start to do it, and to do it well. I never missed a single day and have only had to backblip once way back when, and then I was only one day late.
I no longer comment as much as I used to do, instead dropping off stars and hearts but I still check out all the journals I subscribe to and try to keep an eye on other journals too. It's a joy to be a part of such a friendly and supportive online community and many thanks are due to the Blip organizers both past and present. Here's to the next 7 years.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.