LILIAN HARVEY

My father had always been a great fan of Lilian Harvey, and when he had met my mother in Leiden and their romance had started, he did send her a postcard that I have here for me, with the portrait of the filmstar.
There is no date on it, the stamp has removed, and this card is send to Mej. Miep Freeke, p/a v.d. Goot, Maredijk 173, Leiden.
At the left side there is not a single word written, ony my father's signature: janderooy.
My father kept saying to us children (we were four) that my mother looked a filmstar herself. And we all beamed and believed him.
And it was obvious that he cherished our mother especially for that reason.
She could not cook, did not like to do housekeeping, but what she loved mostly was reading. And she wanted children (she had been one of thirteen).
My father was more in search of a soulmate, a comrade. But eventually had given in to my mother's wish. If not, I probably could not have written these sentences here, but who knows perhaps I could have been born in another family.
The romance of my parents led to marriage, and only death could seperate them, decades later.

Again I watched the silly galleries and I will give further hearts to Miranda1008, HereWeGoAgain, and welshmaid50.

The challenge of today is Mono Monday, the theme as you could have guessed already is: romance. Huge thanks to Marlieske for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.