An onlooker from my walk this morning

I walked to the doctors this morning (and left it late) as it's pretty much all uphill.  On the way I passed this donkey who got wonderfully excited when he saw me.  I didn't; have food, much to his obvious disappointment,  and wouldn't have fed him if I did.  He's living close to a small housing estate so I guess the local children feed him. I stopped to take his photo on the way back and he was making little mewling noises as I stood there.  I thought I'd better stop tormenting him and continue my walk. 

I took a `permissive' path that I haven't walked for years and encountered a wire fence and barbed wire at the end.  Fortunately I found a place where I could climb over with a wall where an old gate was propped up against the wall on the other side.  I guess this is where the pheasant keepers access the place.  I think I need to email the footpath officer at the council (if there still is one).

My extra is a pep ventosa type composite of the former `Monkey' pub, which we think is going to be demolished to make way for new houses.  Someone has cleaned up the whole site and painted the building so I thought it was worth taking for the record.  (I'm not sure that I've got the pep ventosa  technique sorted when it comes to buildings) but Graham Colling certainly has.  In case anyone has memories from the tv series: Last of the Summer Wine, the pub appeared in a number of episodes (located at least ten/ twelve miles from Holmfirth, so a long walk for the trio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.