Merry-Go-Round

Cold, very cold day bu at least dry. Angie luckily did the morning walk while I did my best to get some technical equipment sorted out for her. I hate the innards of PC's, Notebooks, Tablets, Mobile Phones, WiFi, Repeaters ......

I can't claim to not have a clue - that would be too easy and I wouldn't even switch on the machines. It's much worse. I have about 5% maybe 6% knowledge and that is really dangerous. Enough not only to press "On" button but then to try at least a dozen various Settings buttons. Seldom is the result good.

From my point of view a frustrating day. Perhaps not totally wasted and Angie not unhappy with the result. I was actually quite pleased to be able to do the evening dog walk despite the cold. Started well but then Flash started to hang back and showed little interest in carrying on. Partly the snow was clumping in his paws and I did get them out a few times but it didn't really help. So we turned back early.

Then remembered that this evening there was a Christmas market in our parish capital, Sontheim. Just for the one day. In 16 years here, had never been assuming it would be a trestle table and a choice of bottled Glühwein warmed on a gas cooker or a beer in a bottle, all accompanied by a CD player crackling out old Christmas carols.

With 15 minutes in hand thanks to shorter walk, diverted home and took a look thinking I could at least get a Blip for the day. Well how wrong I was. The market was lovely and the village organisations and clubs had built a super little four sided square. Sadly the band and choir were not in action in the 10 minutes I was there but still lots of happy voices to be heard, young and old from the 15 or so stalls. Hand made Xmas decorations, the bee-keeper club with honey jars and hot mead, the "Generation House" with their tombola to raise funds to support their work bringing together the youngest and oldest of the parish together. The best visited stalls were those with hot soup, foods and drinks. It was freezing and my hands had been cold from clearing Flash's paws and now holding camera and mobile phone without gloves, they turned to ice blocks. I had to leave - sadly.

Blip was not good. I couldn't fiddle with dials, using flash to stop blurring made the photos awful. The shown photo of is the small carousel whirring around. Someone needs to remind me why the world over carousels turn anti-clockwise as they derived from the contraptions made for knights of old to practice their spearing from horseback with a lance in the right hand, but the UK carousels turn clockwise!

Next year will try it again but properly dressed, with a wallet and Angie.

However the day came to an end on a great note. Back home found Angie had cooked me a wonderful steak with oven roasted sweet potato and still crunchy steamed kohlrabi in a creamy sauce.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.