The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Christmas, birthday and farewell

...but not farewell to me!
The Christmas part was a fair (or fayre as the organisers insist on spelling such events) to which people brought their dogs. Usually the dogs I see at markets are cute lapdogs, sometimes riding around in shopping trolleys, but these were more like Shetland ponies wearing festive bandanas! Who knew pugs could be so large?

I'm writing this in a somewhat hungover state. I apologise in advance. After the fayre, my fourth sales event in just over two days, I went home, did a pile of washing, made the Christmas cake, unpacked all my wayres from the fayres, cashed up, and then went out to a friend's party.

As said friend was due to leave for India on Monday, it was by way of a birthday AND farewell celebration. There was no food in the house so we all brought stuff. This being a Stroudie sort of gathering, we ended up with four types of hummus, pitta bread, crackers, rice cakes, olives, and chocolate! We had to send out for more wine, but definitely not hummus!

Hours later, John D and I staggered back to Bowbridge via the canal without falling in. The moon was high and 'super', ie very close to the earth, but I didn't attempt a photograph. Walking and talking was sufficiently challenging...

So, here I am on Monday morning, full of the joys! Bomble doesn't let me sleep in. He sits on the pillow and combs my hair with his claws. Now that I've located the paracetamol, I feel certain of survival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.