Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

West End Pond

When I hear of people putting up their Christmas trees and decorations I think, how daft, it is so early. But today I suddenly realised that I am the daft one, it is not too early and Christmas is only 3 weeks away...eek, it has just crept up on me and I am not as organised as I thought. 

So today I went off to Garson's Farm, a local farm shop and garden centre that is very popular for its Christmas trees, and it has a huge selection of Christmas decorations in its shop. It was so busy with people buying Christmas decorations, wreaths and all sorts of other tat other things. I tried really hard but could not quite get in to the Christmas spirit, I kept thinking buying all those decorations was a waste of money and I would rather be buying other things....but I did succumb and came home with a few things, but not half as many as everyone else was buying. Only when I got back home did I find out that they also deliver Christmas trees,  so I need to go back tomorrow to choose one that they can deliver later this week. 

On the way there I passed this pond which I have often photographed before. It was looking very low, I suppose we have not had as much rain as we usually do for this time of year - the trees were still holding on to some colour, and even on a dull day like today it looks quite scenic there.

Now I have started wrapping presents - you see, I am really trying hard to feel the Christmas spirit....but it's not working, I would rather be reading my excellent book (Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie). Wrapping presents is such a chore, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.