Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Zermatt: The Matterhorn (1)

Hello Blip friends! I have to start somewhere and I have so many photos to sort through from our time in the mountains. So this is the beginning of my back-blipping!

The train journey from Lausanne to Zermatt was comfortable: three hours with one train change in a place called Visp.

Our hotel was ten minutes on foot away from the station, but we took the electric taxi service offered by our hotel. I had expected to be thrown into a Winter Wonderland, but there was no snow in the village itself and the famous Matterhorn was lost in the clouds! Oh no! 

However, the next morning, I dashed to the window and saw the first sun light up one side of the mountain! We had a fabulous view from our hotel room.

The Matterhorn is 4.478 metres high. The German word 'Matte' means valley or meadow and 'Horn' means Peak.

The extra shot was on our way up above the village to a place called Winkelmatten where I was checking out a small chapel for my son who is to get married in Zermatt next August!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.