FINALLY GOT ONE

Morrisons as usual this morning.  When I got back I found three cards on the doormat regarding parcels which couldn't be delivered. Two parcels were with  a neighbour so I popped round to pick them up.  The other parcel had been taken back to the depot so I had to phone them up to rearrange delivery.  As I was unpacking the supermarket shopping two parcels arrived from Amazon - and then a Hermes courier arrived with another parcel for me.  He asked me if I would also take in a parcel for my next door neighbour which I did. Finally got on with unpacking/putting away the shopping and by then it was 1pm and  I was ready for my breakfast.

Did a few household chores this afternoon and had another attempt at building the cat tree.  The thing is a disaster.  Screw holes don't line up.  Even when the screws are tight the structure is wobbly. One screw just wouldn't tighten at all.  I have given up.  I have taken it to bits and put it back in the box.  I have contacted the company where I bought it and told them its " defective " - and I want my money back. They will get back to me.  I hope they don't charge me to return it as its heavy and would cost a lot to return.

So I was already in a bad mood about the cat tree when one of the fluorescent tubes in the kitchen went out.  I have two fluorescent lights in the kitchen and the one that went out is over the cooker and sink so that part is in partial darkness.  I can't swap the tube as one is 5 feet and one is 4 feet. So I have temporarily put an anglepoise lamp in there so I could see to cook my meal etc.

So this evening I went online to try and buy a new tube.  Last time I bought one I just went to B & Q in Swalwell.  But B & Q closed down a few years ago.  So I started looking online.  I assumed I would have no trouble sourcing a tube.  Wrong. The type of tube I need has been discontinued.  However some firms do have some in stock but because the tubes are normally used in shops or offices they only sell them in bulk - you need to buy 24 at a time.  I only want one.  So I did a bit of research to see if there was an alternative. I think I have been able to find a tube that will fit and is the correct wattage. Fingers crossed.  We will find out when it arrives.  It cost around £7.  And the postage was £7.50.  I guess a fluorescent tube needs really special packaging. 

So those are the two minus points from today - but my blip shot shows one of the positives.  My new wooden advent calendar which arrived this morning.  Seeing advent calendars in the shops - and here on blip  - I suddenly realised that I had never had an Advent Calendar.  When I was little I don't know if they were around - but if they were I never had one.  Of course I used to get one each for Becky and Neil every year but not for myself.  So I have remedied that.  Behind each door I have put a little Milky Bar white chocolate ( only 1 syn each ). To catch up I have opened doors 1 to 6 and eaten the 6 pieces of chocolate.  Yummy.

Steps today 7,264

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.