LILY

Rather a frustrating day today.  Had an appointment at the vets for Lily to have her booster jab and yearly check up.  If you remember I had to cancel last weeks appointment  as I couldn't get her into the basket.  Well - same happened today.  I managed to get a towel around her and almost had her in the basket - but she got free and hid.  She hates being picked up at the best of times so in a situation like this she just goes crazy.  So .... we have another appointment for next Monday. 

For Abstract Thursday here is  Lily.  She looks like butter wouldn't melt - looks are deceiving.  She's trouble. Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting the challenge.

I wrote a few Christmas cards this afternoon including some which needed to be posted abroad.  And I wrapped some birthday gifts and boxed then up to send abroad.   I went online to check whether the dimensions of my box were acceptable and I weighed it to check it was under 2kg so it could be sent as a small parcel.   I worked out it would cost around £21.

Then I went to the Post Office to post everything.  The village used to have two post offices. The main ( very efficient ) post office in the village closed last month when the Spar shop shut down - and hasn't been replaced yet.  The other post office recently moved into McColls - a corner shop.  I had read bad things about it on Facebook.  There is only a small counter with one member of staff who normally works in the main shop but mans the post office counter when needed.  So at this time of year when its busy there have been long queues.   When I got there I was relieved there was no queue.  Unfortunately I got the impression that the man behind the counter didn't have much idea of what he was doing.  I wonder how much post office training he has had.  Anyway I think I was charged the correct amount for the cards.  But the parcel was another matter.

He weighed it and it was the same weight as I had estimated - so far so good.  Then he got an empty box out - my parcel didn't fit inside his box so he said it couldn't go as a small parcel so it would cost over £50.  My jaw dropped.  I said I would go home and change to a different sized box which would fit inside his box,.

As I was walking home I was mulling things over and I was certain the measurement of my parcel was correct according to the online chart.  Then I wondered if he had got mixed up with the rules for UK parcels.  I checked online again just to make sure I was right - and I think I am.  So I will take my parcel to the post office in Newcastle to see if they are more clued up on the rules. Just more hassle that I could do without as I seem to be chasing my tail at the moment.

Steps today - 7,621

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.