St Nikolaus and Knecht Ruprecht

As hinted yesterday, I managed to get the photos today thanks to the great help of Stefan from the village who gave me the tip off and was one of the characters in the scene. Thanks Stefan.

Although I am close to completing all the paperwork and tests for applying for German citizenship, I suspect it could take another 30 or 40 years before I have "The Knowledge" to apply for Bavarian citizenship. It is a science to work out which part of Bavaria uses Krampus, Perchta, Klausen or Knecht Ruprecht to accompany St. Nikolaus as he tours the houses today.

Regardless was pure joy to watch the faces of the two children who were the "victims" of their visit and I was privileged to be let in to film it. Spontaneous so I didn't have a good position but pleased to have captured it on video which I will share with friends on Facebook and check whether I can Flickr it or perhaps better YouTube. As I was filming in the background and St Nikolaus facing away from me, the words are difficult to catch especially with the Swabian accent.

As can be seen from the collage, even the old tractors get dressed up for St Nikolaus.

Huge applause to the whole group who take the trouble to do this. St Nikolaus has been involved for 50 years but after getting outside the house, couldn't even enjoy a cooling beer with his helpers - he had to drive the Nikolausmobile home.

In other news, simply trying to sort out lots of things - Angie off to Munich early afternoon to meet up with sisters, nieces and nephews for a whizz around some of the Christmas Markets.

Busy days ahead and I am looking forward to it enormously. As good as Christmas, Easter, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Valentine and Red Nose Day all combined.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.