Kumbaya

Kum bay ya, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Kum bay ya, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Kum bay ya, my Lord, kum bay ya,
O Lord, kum bay ya.

Someone's laughing, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's laughing, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's laughing, my Lord, kum bay ya,
O Lord, kum bay ya.

Someone's crying, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's crying, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's crying, my Lord, kum bay ya,
O Lord, kum bay ya.

Someone's praying, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's praying, my Lord, kum bay ya;
Someone's praying, my Lord, kum bay ya,
O Lord, kum bay ya.

Mrs May is calling all her gang around the campfire and firing them up with a good old singalong. Scout Leader would probably be a great future job for her. She would get my vote for that. I even have a contact in the World Scout Movement. I think he's still  Head of Global Projects but was  General Counsel, Chief Risk Officer and Head of External Affairs for World Scouting based in Geneva. He can find her a scout group and campfire in Tanzania.


Talking of which the wonderful David Mundell soothed the revolting Scots today. He might like to join Mrs May in Tanzania, following his rousing visit to Scotland in November to call on schools to sign up to UK Aid and hear about the partnership they have with Tanzanian Schools. Not sure if that is Tanzanian Aid for the UK or the other way..


I hope he was drowned out by a band of pipes playing Kumbaya as in the following video. I would have prefered the really rousing Joan Baez or even Judith Durham/New Seekers versions but this was the only one I found with the words that fit the version of the song above.


Today is St Nikolaus Day in Germany and the real present giving day, at least until 1535 when Martin Luther changed the date to the Birth of Christ day. Luther must have had shares in Amazon and Hallmark.


Saw a bit of SkyNews Brexit at lunch - They are doing daily reports on the feelings around and about in the UK. Today Chepstow on the Welsh border. They pick three people with mixed views and get them to vote on "Trade, Laws and Immigration". Today the hard Brexit person was introduced as an expert in the motor industry. I checked him out on the web. He's indeed CEO/CFO of Chepstow Trade Centre, a used car dealer! When it came to immigration he did try not to show he was a racist and the other two both expressed grave concerns about the lack of enough immigrants to do the jobs in the UK, especially the low paid unqualified ones. And when voting in 2016, immigration played no role whatsoever. Then when asked to give thumbs up or down for the May's Deal rules on future immigration, they all liked her new limitations imposed by her deal.


What the hell is going on? I suspect all these people and around 17m others born before 1980 were raised on wooden cribs and toys painted with huge amounts of lead, banned at some point by the EU.


Being the season of goodwill to all, my Blip is of the various Christmas lights outside the houses in one street in the village, the only one we have to use on my standard dog walk when I don't feel inspired. Didn't spot any St Nikolauses going door to door but had forgotten the village house visits were done last night.

Just for the Oldies, here is Joan in fighting spirit.

OK OK and here the New Seekers-

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.