Caroline's Damage!

It remains windy, but not as bad as yesterday, which peaked at 103mph.  Snow and ice first thing, wintery showers through the day and tonight.

I've been working on the museum desk today, and it's been very quiet, even with the schools being closed.  I nipped down to mam's at lunchtime, for a cuppa and yarn.  After tea I managed to get all my weekend chores done, and then headed out about Scalloway delivering Christmas cards, with a stop off at Madeline's for a cuppa and warm up.

Storm Caroline has lived up to her name, she's been fierce!  People with minor injuries, misplaced wheelie bins, broken fences, sheds and caravans blown away, a neighbour had a shed in her car wind screen, the odd tree blown down and loads of branches scattered everywhere, and a car off the road this morning heading to work.  I'm sure there will be more too.  This poor old croft house caught the wind too, and the roof has fallen in.  I remember being inside years ago, with Adie Manson there, he abandoned it a few years back.  Shame to see it destroyed now.  The Rees croft house, Quarff.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.