Snow Deer

Things I had forgotten about snow:
It doesn't crunch but creaks when you walk on it.
It's tiring to trudge through.
It covers a multitude of sins and makes everywhere look beautiful.
It's muffling effect.
It makes grey horses and sheep look very dirty.
It makes the inside of glasshouses as dark as being in a shed.
It's much easier to spot wildlife.
I love it!

I walked around our property before lunch and went to Lodge Farm this afternoon. I took the front-wheel-drive van but still had difficulty getting from the drive onto the road. I loved having the white-out expanse of the farm to myself. I saw long-tailed-tits, redwings, red-legged partridges and a green woodpecker. I was hoping for deer but didn't spot them until I was about to return home. A huge herd came running from the direction of Parndon Wood. Just as well the traffic on the road it crossed was very light. The running of the deer, so Christmassy. :)

Today's poem is He Loves Me by Mark Van Doren. https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/he-loves-me/

MVD wrote some wonderful nature poetry which would be more my thing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.