SNOW!

This morning when I woke up the world was covered in snow. Ann's sister, Sue, (who we stayed with overnight) took me and Alfie, the Beardie, for our morning walk. Sue said she had never seen me so lively since I was a little puppy. As soon as I got let of my lead I was bounding around all over the place. I had such a lovely play in the snow.



Unfortunately, Ann was not quite so enthusiastic about the snow as I was. She said, 'Molly, we have 300 miles to drive and I haven't driven in the snow for more than 20 years.'



However, we only had about six miles to drive to the M42 and we were sure that the motorways would be clear. Famous last words??!!



Six miles is actually a long way when one is on totally snowy/icy roads. Check out 'extras' for what the road looked like when we left Sue's house. On the plus side we have discovered things that our car can tell us that we didn't know it could??!! Ie, we had to go up a little hill, we were skidding about all over the place and Ann changed right down into first gear and on our dashboard it popped up with a little picture of skidding on ice??!! Are drivers these days really so stupid that they don't know when they're skidding??!! That was scary. We almost abandoned the car and walked back to Sue's house. Anyway I'm sure nobody is interested in the number of abandoned/crashed/broken down cars we saw on the 6 miles to the M42.



Suffice to say the M42 wasn't much better. Only one lane open and everyone crawling along at 20-30 mph. But we'd started so we thought we'd finish. Once on the M5, stopped at the Gloucester services they sell very nice meaty sausage rolls where I had a little walk around in about 6 ins of slush. I think Ann's leopard skin boots have been ruined?! But amazingly when we left, most of the motorway was open and the snow was turning to rain.



By the time we got to the Taunton Services I didn't even get a walk because the rain was soooooo horrendous. Ann was going to buy a 'Macdonalds' cheeseburger for us to share, but do you know what................................ she stood in the queue for ages and then realised that it wasn't a queue to buy a cheeseburger.......................... it was a queue for people who had already ordered via some strange touch screen thing. Why is there no personal service these days??? ….......So she bought a cheese and ham sandwich from 'W H Smiths' instead. And she didn't share!



The journey back to St Ives was horrendous so as soon as the car was unpacked I went on my walk. ….............And guess who I met when we were trekking around town...................... Heather & her gorgeous little cavapoo, Ruby. Obviously meeting Heather & Ruby meant that the humans had to pop into the 'Sloop' to have a glass of wine. And as luck would have it..................... the Sloop had loads of free bar snacks so I got a couple of bits of steak from Ann and then I made friends with the people on the next table and they fed me loads of tasty treats.



We've been home for a couple of hours but I've eaten soooo many tasty snacks that I can't be bothered to eat my dinner.



…................And Ann's tired so she can't be bothered to eat her dinner either. Early night for both of us. Lots to do tomorrow.

Toodles xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.