Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Beached in Blakeney

The plan was to go into Norwich today but having looked at the weather forecast we decided tomorrow would be a better bet.  Instead, we drove to Blakeney with the intention of doing a walk. After a short while W found it was just too cold so headed back for a wander round the village while I carried on and did the circular walk across the salt marshes to Cley and back.  It's three and a half miles and incredibly exposed with the wind coming off the sea straight from the Arctic but I was suitably dressed for it with thermals and layers.  At one point when I was about half way round with the wind just about blowing me over and freezing horizontal rain stinging my face, a flock of lapwings flying overhead and a cormorant struggling to take off into the wind, I thought that I couldn't be happier!  This boat was out of the water at the Blakeney end of the walk and having taken shots of it as I set off and when I got back it was really noticeable how much the tide had come in.

Update on 'Paint-smell-gate' (see my Blip for 8th December).  For the information of those who commented on here and on Facebook I can tell you that putting out a cut onion or a bowl of soda does not get rid of the smell, despite what Old Wives may say.  However, after a couple of discussions with the rental agency we have been refunded half the cost of our holiday.  Whilst we'd rather have not had the smell, it is easing off and we're happy with the result.  And it covers the cost of W's new jacket.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.