Where the Magic Begins

Greetings, old friends and new! This posting is in honor of a very special occasion: my anniversary with Blipfoto. I've been posting a photo every day, with no days missed, and with every photo taken on the day for which it was posted, for six years!

I never would have believed I'd make it this long when I started out. A friend in Ireland whom I have never met face-to-face talked me into it. I had bought a new camera (the Canon PowerShot SX40HS, followed in short order by the SX50, which I adored, and the SX60, my current squeeze) and we thought joining Blip would be a lark. Somehow, here I still am!

I named my Blip photo blog There Must Be Magic, after a book that my oldest sister bought me when I was seven. She wrote in it, "May you always find the magic." That is what this photo blog is for: to capture the everyday magic I see in the world around me.

I mostly post outdoor and nature shots here. Occasionally pictures of my family; or of Dexter, our erstwhile Tabbycat (also known as Dexter the Destroyer, or Tabzilla). And lots of pictures of food - in fact, some of you might think of this blog as an eating tour of central Pennsylvania. That's OK too. We do love food, glorious food!

Along the way, I've also introduced you to a host of other creatures, including the Crittergators, who appear in the whimsical scene above. I was doing some dusting in the living room on this day, where I stumbled upon a small green glass frog and an enchanted rose in a glass dome.

I've also been playing around with milkweed fluff a lot lately. I still have some sitting on the front porch, in fact. I love the way it captures and increases the light. And so my photo shoot on this day began with just one little question (as it so often does): What would it look like if . . . ? (And no, I do not know how the little story above ends. But I do know where it began: right here!)

I want to thank you all for popping by to visit. Blip has been one of the coolest things I've ever done, and continue to do. Seeking out and capturing something lovely (and/or making up little tableaus and stories) is a happy challenge for me each day, and I couldn't imagine a day without Blip.

Thank you to those who look at my pictures, who read my stories, who post comments, and who inspire me with your own photos. (Can you tell that I really, really like it here?) Now, let's keep on Blipping, shall we?

The soundtrack: Shaun Cassidy, with Do You Believe in Magic?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.