Today has been...

…a good day.  Not for any particular reason, I haven’t done anything special.  It got off to a good start when I woke up completely migraine and headache free…that’s always a great start to my day!
It was a bright, sunny, crisp and extremely cold winter morning and walking into town had me clutching M’s arm for dear life on the treacherous pavements and minor roads.  It was less icy in town and we really enjoyed chatting to various shopkeepers (mostly about the weather and Christmas), as we bought this and that.  Everyone seemed to be in a good mood and the Christmas spirit was in evidence, from the lady in the chemist who was wearing her Christmas tree earrings to the butcher who was talking about dressing his turkeys (I presume those of you in the butchery trade will know what that means!).
 
Later in the day, I donned my baking apron and made some gingerbread stars for our lovely elderly neighbours.   The kitchen was flooded with Winter sun and full of the smells of warming spices, ginger, cinnamon and cloves.  It was most satisfying to lift trays of these delicious smelling biscuits from the oven. I have put a photo of them in extras (please don’t look too closely at my wonky icing).
 
So, as I was feeling so festive, I have created a sort of Christmas bauble.  We were shown how to make ‘orb’ images from our photos at our U3A class last week, and after much experimentation I settled on a beautiful stained-glass window from Ely cathedral and thought it looked rather pretty, my original photo is also in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.