STARS

I went to the panto this afternoon.  It was in a huge tent which has been set up in Times Square.  More info has come out as to why Denise Welsh pulled out of the show - she says she wasn't happy with the production as it wasn't well organised and she said that the performers weren't being paid - so she quit.  There weren't many people at this afternoon's performance.  Maybe not many seats had been sold in the first place or maybe people decided not to come if they had particularly wanted to see Denise Welsh. I sat in the seat I had booked which was quite near the back.  There were a few people around me.  But not many.  So we were told to move forward and in the end only the front 6 rows were occupied.

The cast did their very best - it must have been difficult to play to such a small audience in a huge tent.  Panto needs a lot of audience participation and response.  We did our best.  I made sure I cheered, clapped and shouted  " Oh No he isn't " etc as loud as I could.  The lady who replaced Miss Welsh did very well.  She did make a few mistakes and she carried her script with her at all times - and she had to look at it a few times when she forgot her lines.  But she only had 24 hrs notice to get ready for the part.  But with panto a few mistakes don't matter - it just adds to the fun - and it was fun.  The audience left happy.

The company putting on the panto are a local company and their pantos used to be performed at the Church Hall in my village.  Then for the last few years they have used the big hall in the local comprehensive school.  However this year they went bigger and better - moved to Newcastle and hired two TV stars.  And its all gone a bit pear shaped.  Maybe they have overstretched themselves and been too ambitious.  Who knows. 

After the show I walked through Newcastle to the shops.  It was pouring with rain - in fact its rained the whole day.  Nasty cold rain.  I did some Christmas shopping in Lush and Boots ( things on Becky's Christmas list ).

It was around 7pm and I was walking through the Christmas market to go to the bus stop when i realised I hadn't taken my blip shot so I quickly took a photo of one of the stalls.  It was selling different coloured star shaped lights.  I did a bit of processing and used the fish eye effect to make it suitable for Abstract Thursday - the theme is " colourful"..  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

** Update on the fluorescent tube - the replacement arrived today.  It wasn't broken.  It did fit.  And it worked.  I'm well chuffed!

** Update on Jan's three piece suite - the managing director of the company is going to arrange for it to be delivered next week.  So she will have it in time for Christmas. 

Steps today - 11,392

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.