Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I set the bread machine going at 08:30 so that the bread would be ready by 12:00 in plenty of time for lunch. At 10:00 we had a local power cut for 4½ hours. By the time power was restored at 2:30 the only option I had was to switch the machine to bake whatever mess it contained.

During the power outage we received a call from the polyclinic in town to notify us that because there will be a national seaman's strike tomorrow, Spousie's consultant would not be travelling to the island today as he will not be able to return to the mainland for his further commitments there, and therefore, Spousie's appointment this evening would be postponed until some future date.

A few days ago I had made a dental appointment to coincide with Spousie's consultant appointment in town this evening, so I called the dentist and rescheduled my appointment for Thursday morning, which actually suits me much better anyway – I hate evening appointments at the best of times but especially in the winter.

So that meant that I was at home to hear the wonderful news from Alabama and the best I could toast the electorate with was this rather deflated loaf.


Congratulations Alabama!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.