Winter Wonderland

The weather forecast was calling for a winter clipper system to hit us overnight, bringing several inches of snow. I decided to take the bus so I wouldn't have to worry about driving. I had an early meeting at work, so I had to catch the early bus. That meant getting up and around earlier than usual, and you should have seen Dexter's sad little face when I walked out the front door at ten minutes to 7!

This put me on campus at first light. And while I am no fan of early rising, I do have to admit that I adore being present when the light arrives in my world. It's exquisite, really, not to be missed. And on this morning, everything was prettier than ever, wrapped in a blanket of white. I was glad to be there to see the show.

I had about 15 minutes between buses, and I used that time to walk around as quickly as possible, taking photos of central campus. This is the view looking down the hill from the mall near Old Main into downtown State College. That red awning in the distance belongs to a jewelry store. I'm not sure if it's open yet at this hour, but does anyone want to go diamond shopping in the snow? ;-)

The song: Marilyn Monroe, Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.