In Which Leo the Lost Dog Gets a Happy Ending!

It was a local story that grabbed all of our attention. A large black and brown dog named Leo the Leonberger went missing on December 1. The family was desperate to locate him. They posted hundreds of flyers everywhere. On this day, there was a happy ending for Leo: he found his way home!

The story went like this. Leo was left at a pet resort in Julian by his family. He didn't know it yet but he would be spending the night. The van that usually takes him home at the end of the day left without him.

Frantic, Leo busted down not one, not two, but THREE fences to try to follow the van home. After a half-mile, he gave up on chasing the van. But his big adventure didn't end there. Leo kept on running, trying to make his way home.

The family hung posters about Leo all over the place. My husband reported coming across some at Black Moshannon State Park, over the mountain from Julian. The bright-colored posters were hung far and wide: "Lost dog. Leonberger. 160 pounds. Very friendly." With several phone numbers provided.

Then, finally, earlier this week, sightings were reported very near Innovation Park, where I work. Leo was spotted crossing route 322. He zipped away through a hole in a fence. Those of us who heard the story became frantic. We worried that Leo would get hit on the road before he could make his way home.

The weather turned awful. Temperatures dropped into the teens overnight. Leo's story reached right into my chest and squoze my heart. I fretted, I worried, I wrung my hands, I woke up in the night, I kept a lookout, I prayed for a happy ending.

Then it snowed a couple of inches. A local news story was posted: Leo hadn't had anything to eat in two weeks. The family was worried he might not make it. The temperatures dropped into the teens again.

Then a Leo sighting was reported on North Atherton Street. As I was riding the bus home on Thursday late afternoon on Atherton, my eyes were wide. I looked everywhere. Please, please, let me help somehow. Let me help find this lost dog and bring him home.

The local pet resort people and the family and volunteers and police combed the vicinity. They deployed drones to check things out from the air. And on Friday morning, Leo's big adventure came to an end. Leo was spotted once again on route 322. He climbed an embankment and ran behind the medical center.

In the end, the son of the owner of the pet resort where Leo originally went missing was the one to bring this big boy in. Leo was on the run once again, but the son called out to him. Leo, hearing a familiar voice, allowed himself to be leashed. After traveling nearly 20 miles on foot from his original point of escape, Leo was finally safe! Hallelujah!

The family reported that Leo, originally 160 pounds, lost 60 pounds during his two-week misadventure. His feet were injured, he had a few scratches, he walked with a limp, and he accumulated many fleas and ticks. But overall, he is doing well, and Leo is expected to make a full recovery.

The story of Leo's homecoming was the only news that mattered on this day. Who knows else is going on in the world? Who even cares? The only stories I read on this day were about Leo: tales of the details of his capture, a short video, photos of volunteers who helped, a picture of a tearful reunion with family.

When I told my little gang at home about the happy ending, they were absolutely delighted. In fact, they were so excited that they wanted to recreate the scene of Leo's happy homecoming themselves.

You may recall that Tiny Tiger got a puppy a few months ago, so (though this pup is white with black spots, not black and brown), he is standing in for Leo. You can't see it from here, but there may be a tear or two in Tiny Tiger's eyes. And maybe there's a little something in my own eye too. Let me wipe it away.

Dear hearts, the world is not a perfect place. Sometimes bad things happen to good people (and to good creatures). But sometimes, everything goes right, as on this day. And love wins a round or two.  :-)

WELCOME HOME, LEO!!!!! - from all of your fans and admirers

The soundtrack: Ozzy Osbourne, Mama, I'm Coming Home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.