I'm beginning to feel like a tourist.

I wander around Penrith these days and can barely recognise the place we moved into a mere 30 years ago.
I'm later than Alice was with cards; in sooth I had to give myself a SEVERE talking to, just to even think of doing them.

SO - to whom it may concern  - apologies in advance.

I was, specifically after 1, or more, Christmas cards "from Penrith".
Last time I was in this area of town it was to get a key cut; approaching from the other side I discovered a note on his door to the effect he'd closed and to hie me  unto Timpson's so I turned back and didn't see the change "here".
FAT chance, I'll wait.
I hold Timpson in the same regard as T.E.Stocton & CO.
Timpson Cut keys, so did the bloke I was going to mentioned earlier.
Timpson did engraving, so did every Jeweller in town.
Timpson repaired shoes, so did the bloke who closed. (Key cutter)
Timpson did dry cleaning, so did one or two other places in town.
Get the picture? 
I have NOT researched the town, that's "off the top of the head;"  though, checking their Web site just now, I've no doubt I could find one or two more.
SO - today I approached from the same direction and travelled 30-50 yards past where I wanted to be,  and realised I'd past my goal.
Thinks. -  "Must have been looking across the road."
Toddled my way back, looking for creamish  Card shop, with a green header board.This is what I found. At least the Cafe hasn't closed.
I'm standing, fairly obviously, on the other side of the road; almost all of which is unoccupied by our now defunct local Co-op.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.