Angels Among Us

Dear Diary,

When Matt stopped by on Wednesday to help shovel, I also asked him to go up to the attic of the barn to find a couple of Christmas things.  He found them and also brought down this crystal angel.  He thought I would like to have her around for Christmas.  What a sweet guy he is and he is totally right.  I love the way the Christmas lights reflect off her but it was his thoughtfulness that was the real gift.

Speaking of gifts...a card arrived yesterday from a dear Blip friend.  I thought it was a Christmas card but it was an acknowledgement that she had given a year of school for a young girl in my name.  She said, as a former teacher, it was the perfect gift for me.  I must admit I dissolved into a bucket of tears.  I don't think I have ever received a more special Christmas gift in my entire life. 

There are angels around us all the time.  They may not have wings but to me angels are what angels do and I have been very blessed this year to have several hovering around me.  I think it may be time to drag out my all time favorite Christmas movie, It's a Wonderful Life, with Donna Reed and Jimmy Steward.  Yes, it is a wonderful life despite its occasional set backs.   "Teacher says, every time a bell rings, and angel gets his wings."  That scene always reduces me to tears even though I've seen it a hundred times at least.  Guess I'll need another box of tissues!

We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.