A Remnant from the Past

Dear Diary,

This old, rusted water tower isn't too far from my house.  I love old things and rusty things so this fills the bill for me.  This water tower use to supply the steam trains that  criss-crossed this area of Maine a hundred or more years ago.  The trains are long gone and so have most of the tracks but some how this tower remained.  It looked so strange standing tall against the bright blue sky.

Unlike Europe and the UK, America lost a lot of it's local train system after WWII and I wish that weren't so.  Train travel is a great way to get from point A to point B as I learned in Scotland this past September.  Maine still has a train to Boston from Portland, the Downeaster, which I rode this year for the first time.  I wonder how long this rusty old tower will stand? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.