CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Hooken Cliffs

The weather forecast today was that it would be cold but sunny until about lunchtime, when it would become a bit drizzly, so we got up (fairly) early and drove to Beer where we parked the car. From Beer we took the steep road up past the fishermen's cottages and followed the South West Coast Path in the direction of Branscombe. 
I was wearing two pairs of trousers, and two tops, plus a warm jacket, neck warmer, scarf, hat and gloves. At one point I was roasting! However, when we turned and headed back, I was really glad of all those layers.
This is the view at Beer Head towards the undercliffs at Hooken.  About 130 years ago, a large part of the cliffs (7 to 10 acres) slid down overnight and formed the undercliffs and columns and pinnacles of chalk. I was keeping my fingers crossed that history would not repeat itself today.
I was really looking forward to a crab sandwich and coffee on the beach at Beer on our way back to the car, but sadly the cafe has closed for the winter.
The weather forecast was spot on - we caught the best part of the day, and this afternoon it was dull and drizzly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.