The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Access denied

It doesn't really feel.like Christmas...

One of these cash boxes has a bent key and a broken coin tray and no handle. I've stopped using it. The black one, which is brand new, has no keys now.

This is ia long story. This afternoon, after loading up following the market in Nailsworth, I found that my scarf was caught in the car door handle at one end, and in the buckle of my money belt at the other end. Fearing strangulation, I released the money belt end, and then had to step out of the car to release the door handle end. We drove on to Stroud. I collected a Christmas present I'd ordered from a trader in the Merrywalks, and got back into the car. On arriving home, I walked across the hard standing and found four separate piles of dog poo. I cleared them up, ranting all the while, and finished unpacking the car. I made lunch for us both, and sat down to unpack my stall boxes. Only when it came to book keeping did I realise that the money belt was missing.
It contains a wad of notes, a bag of 1 pound coins, and both the keys for my new cash box! I don't know how much was in there, maybe a hundred pounds, maybe more, but I can't even open the cash box to see how much is in there!

We've been back to Nailsworth and Stroud, rootling around the car park and bins in the dark. I've contacted the police (nowadays one merely fills in a form online) and the market owner, and the stall holder in Stroud. I've attempted lock picking. I've even ordered another identical cash box from eBay.

Above all, I'm just really disappointed that a momentary lapse in concentration, after a freezing cold morning in the market, can have such consequences. I know I still have a home and a life, but I'll admit I'm discouraged. I hope that whoever ends up with the money will benefit from it. Since I don't know where it went, but am.99.9 percent sure it's not in the house or my possession, that seems the positive thing to wish for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.