festive parents

This morning I said goodbye to my parents. It gets harder each time. This will be their 60th Christmas together :-)

It was such a beautiful morning when I left them at Uckfield Station. I arrived at Euston with time to spare so went to visit Friends House and browse in the bookshop.

Returning to Euston, I found that there were no trains in or out of the station for the foreseeable future, due to "an incident" near Hemel Hempstead. Announcements forecast that the service might be delayed for up to 5 hours. I hurried to Kings Cross and caught a train to Newcastle, where I caught another train to Dumfries...presently somewhere near Brampton.

I've finished my book, watched a film, seen the most amazing sunset, and feel very sad about what turned out to be a fatality. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.