CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A resident at Parkend on the Sharpness canal bank

I wanted to get a bit of fresh air after getting caught up in traffic and the shopping pressures in Gloucester. On the way home I made a diversion towards the River Severn and stopped at Parkend bridge over the Gloucester to Sharpness canal. This is a spot I often visit in spring and summer to watch the bird life and the swallows in particular which return to nest under the swing bridge each year.

I walked along the tow[path on the west side of the canal, past various narrow boats and other larger vessels, only one of which seemed inhabited. I spotted this man intermittently leaving the rear cabin door and leaning over the side of the narrow boat to apparently wash the metal sides just above the water line.

I've always been intrigued by the long lean-to building on the bank which is obviously his as well. It is very topsy-turvy and has walls at all sorts of angles. It looks like it has been built from found objects over a large number of years. I bet it is treasure trove inside and a wonderful place to have as a holiday home. But I think it may be his residence. The laws around the canal moorings might mean that he needs a boat to be allowed a bankside building. 

I was very aware that it is the shortest day today, and the declining light at 3pm is the evidence. I'm now looking forward to days extending and the light returning, but I rather like the mid-winter too, for a few weeks at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.