Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Aha!

Look what this nuthatch found - a nut.  It's actually the first time I've snapped one of these guys when not  creeping down a tree or pole. 
It was a pretty nondescript day.  I rode up to Madera Canyon because I wanted to buy a gift at the Lodge. Since I had to pick up my groceries at a specific time, I only had 15 minutes to try to capture something interesting.  I didn't have much luck because it was later in the afternoon and most of the birds were napping.  I was pretty disappointed that all of the hummingbird feeders had been taken down.  In the past, they've left at least one out because some Magnificents, one of the cold-hardy hummers, hang around.

We're supposed to have our first hard freeze tonight (mid-20's) so I need to go out and dump the water from the dishes and put Styrofoam cups on the tips of the torch cacti.  I even have to put the heat on.  The good news is that December is historically our coldest month.  The forecast at this point for Christmas Day is 72°/22°.  Welcome to the Sonora Desert wild winters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.