Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

I could have done with this today!

This is our local pool and where I learnt to swim.  When I first started it was a major achievement just making it to the railings!  Now I spend most of my time in lane 5 or 6 at the far side of the pool.  I dread to think how any hours have been spent here, but the vast majority of them have been good.

I am shattered tonight and it has been a shocking week.  I am used to the pre-Christmas disasters at work and knowing what a hard time is ahead on January but this year anything that could go wrong has and the New Year will be challenging to say the least.  One good colleague is going through a hard time and another had his wife taken to hospital yesterday and she won't be home until the New Year.

I was so thankful to leave at 11:00 but had to make do with the gym as the pool has been closed the last two days for "deep cleaning".  I will have to go tomorrow to check if they have!  I love the pool when it is quiet and this week I had my own lane, and at times was the only person in the pool.  It won't be like that for the next few weeks!  I worked out that I have reduced my average 100m time by 26% this year from 2 minutes and 20 seconds per 100m to 1 minute and 43 seconds per 100m.  I'm not sure I can do the same next year, but I have a target to swim a mile (64 lengths) in 30 minutes or less.  I have my benchmark time of 31 minutes and 38 seconds so plenty of room to improve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.