Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Reduced price poinsettia

This past Monday, I had gone to the Lowes do it yourself store (I have to designate since we now have a Lowes Food here too!) to get some little hooks for a project I was working on ( photo on the finished product after Christmas!)  You know Lowes is one of those stores that you can never buy just what you went in there for because you always see "something".  The "something" was this poinsettia which was on the sale table marked down to $3.00.  It looked kind of straggly and needed some attention but I got it anyway.  Sometimes my thumb turns a light shade of green because it has come back out really well.   It just needed some water and a little TLC.

Today, on the first full day of winter,  the hubs and I celebrate 44 years of marriage even though we have been together since high school which probably puts us at about 50 years.   We went out to the IHOP pancake house for breakfast.  So as we were waiting for our food he asked me what the "thing" was for a 44th anniversary present.   With the straightest face I could pull off..I said "hardwood floors".  He kind of did a little double take and then he laughed as he knew I was not being truthful..so I said it was wood..any kind of wood and that hardwood floors in our bedroom would be a perfect present for me.   I have been after him for 5 years to rip out the old carpet and put down floor..he can do this as he as done it before downstairs in our living room.   So maybe it will happen this year...and I may help it along by taking the tape measure up to the bedroom to measure and then going to the Lowes to see what they have and the cost.   Maybe this year it will happen.  It would be a really good anniversary present for us both!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.