We are ready!

I like Christmas being on a Monday, it has given us proper getting in the mood time, all together as a family. No working right up to the last hour for us. Today I got up after 9, did a bit more tidying then made the pastry for more orange mince pies while listening to The Archers (rubbish ending). Then Jon and I took Bracken for a really nice long walk to Felbrigg. There we had a drink and a potter in the shop, then home about 2. The children had spent time next door with mum and dad. We are joining them later for drinks and The Polar Express. ‘We’ (that’s Jon and I) feel it is tradition to watch it on Christmas Eve. The kids aren’t as keen! I don’t suppose my dad will be interested, he hasn’t stayed awake through a film yet (in his 88 years!) that I’m aware of!

I made the mince pies, Mollie made sausage rolls and then Jon and I finished wrapping. Now the 5 of us are watching Harry Potter and the philosophers stone on dvd. Another tradition has been to try and fit all the films in over the break.

Stockings are up. Lasagne cooking. Turkey DEFROSTED!!! So that means we, The Gibbs family nestled in North Norfolk, in the lovely back of beyond, are ready and looking forward to our proper family Christmas!!

At this time of extravagance and indulgence, don’t think about the things you don’t have, don’t compare, just be grateful for what you have, and enjoy time with you loved ones. I feel like we are doing that more than ever this year. Just one more sleep....Merry Christmas everyone from all of us x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.