Excited me!

What a lovely day! Father Christmas visited with a generous selection of bits and pieces for us all. He had even left stockings for mum and dad next door....I heard that he dropped in on them at about 6am when they were both fast asleep. They didn’t hear a thing! Are they the only 77 and 88 year old in the country to get a proper stocking I wonder?

I had to let the cat out at 6 and there was no going back to sleep for me. I put the oven on at 7 and the turkey went in just after 7.30. We made a bit of noise in the kitchen preparing veg etc which we hoped might wake the ‘children’. It’s just not the same when they aren’t up at 5am!! Anyway, Mollie was up and woke the boys, then present opening began in earnest. Of course, I was forgetting that there is one child still in this house! ME!! I was super excited and surprised as it really wasn’t expected, to receive an ACE 200i metal detector!!! Jon said he did some research and decided this was the best for me as a beginner. It is like my nimbus 2000! So it is a birthday and Christmas present combined, but I’m not complaining! We are heading to West Runton beach tomorrow to try it out. Jon was really pleased with the watch I bought him. Kids were happy too.

Dinner came together after 6 hours of cooking, although I did burn the parsnips. The afternoon was spent dozing in front of the TV (except Henry who has a new playstation game). We’ve had too much food, lots of fun, lovely presents and phone calls to our nearest and dearest. We are exhausted but happy and feeling lucky and loved. My head is battling a headache, but I’m not retiring before a bit more tv.

Cheese and biscuits have just appeared and the evening starts here. Merry Christmas x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.