A Swedish Christmas

In Sweden the big day for Christmas is the 24th. Early this morning I FaceTimed with my dear Swedish friends, Alice and her mum, and we opened presents together. I got a beautiful photo book of Dolly that means the world to me! And also a new Swedish Santa and a sheep, both hand made and bought at their local Christmas market.

We’re going to open the final gifts another day as I had sent two small packages and one of them hasn’t yet made it! I hope it will be found eventually!

I went off to church and found out I was an hour early! They’d merged two service and changed the time for today and I hadn’t paid well enough attention. I went to cafe Nero and had a coffee to kill the time.

When I got home I made what was my feeble attempt at a Swedish Christmas meal. Salmon, eggs, shrimp, potatoes, meatballs and pickled herring 4 ways! It was delicious! A friend stopped by and we had tea and cake.

Then it was off to my sisters where I’ll be staying until at least Boxing Day! This evening we all went to a lovely Christmas Eve meal at her son’s in-laws. It was a delicious spread in a beautiful home. There was also a new puppy there called Bonnie - a cross between a poodle and border terrier (see Extra photo). She was the sweetest calmest dog and she had the typical poodle intelligence and loving temperament. I got lots of puppy cuddles and kisses. Bliss!

To all my Blipfriends far and wide, I wish you a very Happy Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.