Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Christmas Treat

I've never seen a Verdin carry a peanut before.  This little fellow surprised me when he snatched a shelled piece from the wall and brought it into the Texas Ranger bush.  I was really far away so this is about as cropped as I could get it.  His right foot is holding the nut in place.  The previous shot showed both feet wrapped around it but that was much more blurry.

With no bugs around anymore and the bees hiding for the moment, I kept the door open this morning when I went out to water and feed the birds. I saw Zippy whiz past me - right through the open door into the house.  My jaw hit the ground and panic ensued.  After the three longest seconds of my life - out  he flew.  He must have realized pretty quickly that there wasn't anything sweet inside.  Whew!!

The Christmas dinner cooking is going pretty well so far.  The pie, beans, beets, and turkey breast are done.  Just have to whip up the potatoes and stuffing, heat the gravy and put out the cranberry sauce.  Hope you all enjoyed your holiday.  It's nice to be able to spend it with Mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.