Capital adventures

By marchmont

Handfasting

West, to Troon, today for the wedding of my cousin's younger daughter, Carole, to Paul. It was a Humanist service with one of the central points being the Handfasting. I hope this one last more than a year a day. They have already been together, living and working in Provence for 2 years, and like many 'young' couples these days they are not that young - 29 and 36. I wish them well.

There was much joy and talk of romance and love and commitment and also some sadness about what the future will bring. I decided being alone was best for me. Sometimes staring into the fire contemplating quietly is the best thing to do, for everyone's sake.

But being quiet in my room proved impossible - it backed on to the band and the whole room reverberated with the noise till midnight. Staring at the log fire was definitely the better option.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.