The trip that wasn't meant to be...

Woke up early this morning full of excitement for our little winter getaway.  Having traded my Mini for our daughters’ SUV after having an issue with my hubby’s truck brakes, we packed up and began the 6 hour journey to our ranch destination.  It had started snowing when we left home and began snowing more heavily as we drove into the mountains.  About an hour and a half into the drive we had an issue with the 4 wheel drive system once it was engaged, hindering us from traveling any further.   Thankfully we were still able to drive home but it looked like we weren’t able to go.  Two vehicles need repairs now.  Needless to say I’m so disappointed.  Unpacking everything I’d just packed a few hours earlier was so disheartening.

At this point I believe we did everything we could to try and make this holiday happen, but I did wonder several times whether we were not meant to go at this time.  Maybe fate or a higher power intervened throwing roadblocks in our way to protect us from something unforeseen?  I don’t know that for sure, but I do have a fairly intuitive spidey sense and so even though I’m really disappointed, I just didn’t feel we were to look for yet another alternative ride.  

I think an incident like what I experienced today is reflective of disappointments in life.  How do we handle things when they don’t go our way or how we’ve planned?  Do we get mad, angry or suffer in silence, busy ourselves or attempt to diminish the pain via other methods?  For me, I believe there’s always something to learn about myself in most situations if I’m open to it and even though I may not have chosen todays life lesson or understand it yet, I choose to accept it and am at peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.