Boxing Day

What’s that saying?  The ‘best laid plans often go awry’?  

Well, that was us today.  My love and I had planned a little wintry ranch getaway for after Christmas for 3 nights/4 days and were planning on leaving early tomorrow morning.  On Christmas Eve day as we were driving home from our family bonfire, my husband noticed the brakes on his truck not working well.  He pulled over to the side of the road to check and saw that the brake line was leaking fluid which meant it was most likely broken.  We made it home safely after he pulled into a gas station and added brake fluid but that left us with the dilemma of getting parts before leaving tomorrow morning.  Of course Christmas Day everything is closed here and apparently so were the shops that he needed to get the part from today, Boxing Day.  I had almost resigned myself to the fact that we might not be able to go or have to shorten our trip by a day as my Mini was probably not the best idea to take into 4 wheel drive country.  Being a where there’s a will there’s a way kinda gal, one last idea popped into mind.  I quickly called my daughter asking if we could switch vehicles for the week as she has a 4 wheel drive SUV.  Of course she said yes and so all is sorted!  Plans initially made weeks ago are back on.  Finished packing with yet a few more things to throw together in the morning and we’re off!  

Having stayed at this somewhat remote location before, the wifi is iffy so I’ve decided to take a break from blipping while away.  Will catch up with you the last day of 2017!

This image is of my home sweet home.  I’ve been wanting to take a night shot of the twinkly lights my love kindly put up for me the beginning of December.  It’s extra pretty with the beautiful white snow.  

Ciao for now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.