Transitoire

By Transitoire

Thé sans un nuage de lait

Had an amazing Skype with Andy this morning. He's been so busy this week and I've been so ill, that we haven't really had time to have a proper catch-up...and it was awesome to finally get round to it! This put me in a brilliant mood for the rest of the day, and the day only got better! Managed to sort out my television connection to the aerial (DIY Queen!), so I now have French television too!!

Spent a lovely hour or so with Baptiste (pictured), speaking almost entirely in French! Which I know seems to be a stupid thing, but a lot of the time when you are with solely English speaking people the temptation is always to speak in English. And of course in class I talk solely in English with the students, so was really nice to realise I can actually speak the language! Spent loads of time discussing how the best way to say things was, and what was really Frenchie and what was a real anglicisme. Also explained the random phrases 'legs like lead', 'raining cats and dogs' and 'cracking the flags'. Always happy to be of help! Felt I learnt more, and understood more than my entire years' worth of speaking classes at university...I guess this immersion thing works!
- Pâte and Patte sound the same
- J'aimerais - would
- Je pourrais - could
- Je devrais - should
- Diaphragme - aperture
- L'ouverture - shutter (yes we talked about cameras! Baptiste is an arts student...)

This was followed by a lovely shopping trip and coffee with the girls - definitely bought things...but obviously only things I need eek! Getting ready now for a night out, starting at chez Laura which should be awesome...prepare for a hungover photograph tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.