Christmas Day ...... not as planned

We were woken up just after 8 am by Brian coming into our room and telling us, that he ran over Carol, and that he needed some help!
My sleepy brain did not get it really - and it took a while until I realised there was an accident!
Neil jumped out of bed and I followed little later to just see them leaving to get to the hospital.
Brian reversed with the tractor and overlooked Carol crossing with the wheel barrow. Not so good! However, she was let's say ok for being run over by a tractor. But her foot looked scary.
While Neil was going to Mecclesfield, I started packing our stuff as we were planning to leave after Christmas Lunch, which was going to happen at the parents place. 
I was worried about Carol, but we needed to wait until we got news.
I took the dogs up hen cloud and Brian joined me for the walk. The weather was not so great, but it cleared up a bit while we walked.
I knew it was important for Carol that the dogs were out!
Once back I heard back from Neil that Carol got x-ray and that there was a broken bone in the right foot and tissue damage in the left. She was kept in hospital. So nothing too serious, but still not great news. I knew Carol was not going to be happy to stay in hospital. 
When Neil came back I asked if we should just stay and cancel the trip to Berlin, but he said Carol would not appreciate that.
So we loaded the car and packed an overnight bag for Carol (as per her instructions) and drove to Roach Side. We were late, the family was already about to start Christmas Lunch.
We had the traditional turkey and loads of things aside. 
After the meal the wild exchange of Christmas presents started.
A lot a people and a lot of presents!!
Neil made me speechless with his main present for me! Difficult to describe, but it was build up from "misleading" hints in the card to several envelops of different sizes, each giving me some more information, until it revealed that he had bought Perl Jam tickets for March. 
But, the concert will not be in Berlin, or in the UK!!! It will be in the Maracana ....... in Rio de Janeiro!!!! 
WOW!!!
So we are going to Rio in March :)
I was totally chuffed and speechless!!!!
There were more presents and sitting together with the family before we headed off to Mecclesfield hospital with Carols presents and the over-night bag.
Carol did not expect us but was pleased to see us. We did presents and also managed to pack pretty much the right things.
Her right foot is in plaster and the left is swollen to at least triple size!
She said it was her own fault misjudging Brian reversing in the dark. 
She will not be able to walk until the left foot can carry weight again, but she has already organised everything to keep the farm going.
We set off towards Glasgow after 6 pm and were home just after 10 pm.
We were tired and had to repack for Berlin. 
We also discovered that it was raining into our flat and had to place a row of buckets in my studio :(.
We managed to have all packed and ready after midnight. Alarm set for 6 am!

My blip is Neil .... my "king" of the day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.