A different Christmas Day - Tour around the island

We were up at 7:30 am - this is all without any alarms set - and packed our stuff for or tour around the island today.
We skipped the morning swim and went directly for breakfast, which was again quite amazing.

There are new fruit everyday, a lot local species, that I had not know they existed. Today it was Petanga!

We were for 10 am at the tour office and got shown to our boat. A nice speedboat, which takes about 15 persons - cramped.
We took the best seats in the front as we were first on the boat.
Opposite of us was a lovely young Brazilian couple who go married on Boipeba 2 days ago.
We collected some more people on the next beach - and were altogether 12 people.

Santos, our captain, seemed a bit grumpy when we set off and steered the boat secure but wild through the waives and we were wet pretty immediately! So glad that I had bought a waterproof bag for my camera and had put it in in time!
Our first stop was at the natural pools of Morere, where we snorkelled between fish and corals. The Water was maybe to our hips.
There were a few more moats and also a swimming bar, which was immediately consulted by the 4 English people we had on the boat.
Beer at 10 am it a bit too much for me!

The next stop was at Ponta de Castelhanos, were we stayed over mid day. It is a beautiful beach and bay, with a covered area, where they served pasteis, tapiocas and all kinds of fresh fruit juices with or without alcohol..
I had in the meantime made friends with Santos, who could indeed smile :)
I had a look at the amazing fruit bar and Santos let me try al those fruit I had never seen. Umbo, Biribiri, Siguela, Caja, Caju …. And more. He recommended me to try a juice of cacao with biribiri, which was served in a cacao fruit. I had no clue they were so big!
Neil and I also tried a pasteo. Mine with lobster and cheese, Neil went for chicken.
Very tasty.

1.5 hours later we boarded again and went to some more natural pools to snorkel. Then we headed for lunch at Cova do Onca, or Sao Sebastiao.
I did not really need more food, but the setting in this small fishing village, not in the main part of Boipeba was too tempting and as their speciality was lobster in butter, I could not resist.
I go a huge bowl of lobster tails in butter. Incredible. I think it was at least 5 lobster in that bowl. Very tasty!!!

We left again an hour later and continued our trip around the island.
The last stop was a floating oyster bar!
And yes, I also had some oysters!!!
6 fresh oysters for 13 reals - 2.60 pounds or so!!

This was the last stop and we then returned to Velho were we all got dropped off.
I gave Santos a tip and he was so happy! 
The others seem not to have tipped him. Come on  - it is Christmas after all!

We walked back to Luar Das Aguas and sat down for a coffee in the bar.

No need to have dinner after all the food all day.

I took my laptop out and looked through photos, while Neil was reading.
We also ordered 2 Caipirinhas.

Neil disappeared after a wee while and I stayed on for another caipirinha and a long chat with Aldemir.
There was a third Caipirinha, and that almost killed me.
I never finished it and fell to bed just after midnight.

It was a great day and we consider to to the tour again on another day.
Probably with Aldemir, who had not done this tour yet.

Blipping a selection.

Main is Sao Sebastiao, where we had the late lunch.
Extra - 
........ This is my lunch - look at the amount of Lobster!!!!
........ Ponta de Castelhanos and 
......... it's bar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.