The magpies didn't like this buzzard in the garden

I took Helena's advice and went outside this afternoon, but not for a walk. I topped up the bird feeders and then set up a perch in our garden cabin to watch the birds feeding. The sun was already low in the sky by mid-afternoon so the light was shining nearly horizontally and providing good back lighting. I wanted to try to catch their illuminated outspread wings in flight.

Various birds visited as usual but the great spotted woodpeckers were too wary of me as I think my long lens was reflecting the sun brightly. As I sat inside the cabin with a large window open, I noticed a commotion in the big sycamore at the bottom of the garden round to my left. I quickly swung my camera and saw this big bird, not knowing what it was, but aware that the magpies were squawking like mad.

I quickly realised it was likely to be a buzzard, some of which seem to nest in the valley behind the garden, but they rarely set foot so close to the house. I suppose that it is short of food given the icy and snowy conditions so came down to see what it could find. 

I shot three frames through the double glazed windows of the cabin, but it then flew off when the magpies became concerted in their displeasure and started to 'buzz' it. Is that where there name came from? As it flew away it was shielded by the tree so the view was rather obscured. So I've blipped it even though the image isn't very clear as an unusual entry in my blip journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.