An icy winter's walk at Steel Rigg

This afternoon Mr hazelh, my middle sister, my brother-in-law, and my nephew Paddy drove up the road to the Roman Wall for an icy winter's walk at Steel Rigg. It was very slippery and Mr hazelh and I both fell over. The light was beautiful, as can be seen from my blip (with the wall in the background). Afterwards we had a cup of tea and a look around the new visitors' centre at the Sill.

Back at the house my niece Ailish was left in charge of the Aga and a huge hunk of sirloin. While it cooked slowly in the bottom oven other dishes were prepared: barley soup from turkey stock; a smoked salmon fish course; roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, parsnips and carrots; swede; cabbage; sprouts; Yorkshire puddings; and fluffy jelly. This all made for a fabulous family feast this evening.

Exercise today: more minimal walking (8395 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.