Feathered Messengers

Dear Diary,

Yesterday it was a tiny "ice bow" in the trees and today it is a cardinal in Auntie's tree.  Cardinals are considered spirit messengers and it isn't just my crazy imagination.  Many cultures throughout time have looked upon these beautiful red birds as something special.  If you want to read a bit about it, you can check out this link.

Cardinals were a favorite of my dear Auntie so I've always felt it was a nod from her when one landed in her tree.  "All will be well" it seems to say and I do feel better this morning than I have in a week.  I will venture out this afternoon after it warms up a bit, it is -20F right now, our coldest morning yet.

Emerson and I spent the day yesterday buried under blankets watching Dr. Zhivago.  In my ice encrusted world it seemed appropriate.  It was Aunties favorite film too.  It came out when I was in high school and I have a very antique VHS tape of it.  I really need to buy a dvd.  This old one has been watched so many times I'm sure it will give out one day.  Great works of art, and this was surely one of them, never lose their appeal no matter how many times you watch it.  Every young girl in 1965 wanted to look like Julie Christie!  I know I did.  I had the blue eyes at least but there the similarity stopped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.