Sheep, snow and half a hedge!

I'm quite a fan of Janet Burdon's snow plus sheep photos, so I thought I might try and see what I could manage this morning.  I hadn't expected to find sheep in the closest field, so I decided to concentrate my efforts there.  I think Janet must have managed to photograph her sheep with a farmer in tow, either they are walking down farm tracks or perhaps just about to be fed.  Well mine were happily wandering around nibbling grass wherever they could find it, so I decided I needed to change my lens (not something I usually do outdoors, especially in snow.  So I changed it, took a few shots and turned round, only to find a semi-circle of sheep behind me, all looking up with appealing eyes in anticipation of food (which I had not brought).  I couldn't work out where they'd come from until I saw this one dragging half a hedge bottom along.  Well, they soon lost interest in me and the snow turned to sleety rain.  So I gave up and came home.  

I'm not sure it was an altogether successful photo shoot, though it was an amusing encounter.  I'm now sat watching pheasants picking over the area of grass where I sprinkled some hen corn.  I think they've been luckier than the sheep. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.