Back to ‘normal’

After a little lie in I got up to make tea, wash up, let the dog out, let the cat in; usual morning stuff. Polly and Richard joined us at 9ish but our planned morning walk had to be cancelled. It was absolutely bucketing down outside, with no sign of stopping. It was a shame, but meant a day at home. Once our guests had left I started on the decorations, with Henry’s help we had the tree, cards and other many bits and pieces down and packed away, while Jon went out in search of crickets for the dragon. After a late lunch of cold turkey and pickles with a nice bit of bubble and squeak we moved the furniture back to its original locations, then a quick hoover and we are back to normal. The only give away to the month is the giant bowl of mixed confectionery on the coffee table. However, in true decluttering mode I managed to finish off my Thornton’s chocolates, the matchmakers and the maltesers. So 3 more boxes for the recycling mountain (we have already filled our bin and mums, and they don’t empty it until the 8th!)

The afternoon was relaxed. Chilling in front of the tv, more Harry Potter, then a session with my camera on the tripod and timer trying to get a photo of all 5 of us together. I think there was one reasonable one among them.

I drove Mollie over to Josh’s for 5.30 then dropped in on Morrisons to cash in our scratch card winnings. I had spent £20 on 20 x £1 cards. We had £18 in winnings, so not a complete waste of money. Henry came out on top with £12.

Friday is usually shopping day, but we are eating what is in the house. But I couldn’t resist a sneaky peek in the places where the reduced products are placed. Very pleased to know I still have the ability to search out that bargain of bargains with this bag of very firm and fresh apples for 13p. 1p per apple. 13 apples, not at all unlucky!! I plan more of this for 2018.

So where has 2017 gone? 2 more days. It hasn’t been a great year again. Would like a change of fortune in 2018 please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.