Utility progress

It may look messy, but in a very small space, moving everything around you as you go, it’s hard to make progress. Hopefully you can visualise the great job Jon is doing here. On the right (doorframe in, but no door) the sink is plumbed in. This will be our cloakroom. The toilet will go under the window, so that’s the next job. To the left of the ‘cloakroom’ is a small L shaped utility room. We had a spare bit of work surface. Jon built a stud partition to separate off half the garage, and has boarded half of it, and put up the work surface. The door through to the new smaller garage is to the left. Doorframe in, but no door yet. Behind me, there will be a hole cut through and a fire door added, as the entrance to the house. Water to sink is working, and washing machine too. In 2019 we will have this space as extra living area, and it is going to make sooooo much difference to our lives. How many of you with a family of 5, survive happily with just 1 toilet? Not many, I guess. I can’t wait for it to be finished!

We woke late today, then drove in to Sheringham - just us and the boys as Mollie stayed at her friends last night. After lunch, Jon worked outside and I did some baking after a quick dog walk to the allotment. Henry took down some of the decorations, plus one Christmas tree, & Daniel washed all 3 cars including mine - my birthday seems to have come 3 days early!

I roasted a giant gammon (3.5 hours) and we have enjoyed a civilised family dinner at the dining table. Another resolution for the new year - eating as a family at the table. So I must make sure I don’t fill it with loads of my ‘hobby clutter’.

Now we are watching a film Jon got for Christmas called ‘Solo’. It’s something to do with Star Wars. I’m not really concentrating...& we are eating chilli heatwave doritos..& drinking red wine. Sounds like a good Saturday night in to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.