Roll on Easter?

I recall, from the "hists of mistory", a trick; whereby it was possible to dissolve an egg-shell in vinegar, get it into a milk bottle and by a method I'd need to look up, re-harden the shell. I have a friend I've never met, in America who mentioned "Purple pickled eggs". Apparently they were pickled in Pickled Beetroot juice. I'd not call them purple, but they are certainly highly coloured.
With the, aforementioned "trick" in mind I hurled an egg into pure "Distilled Malt Vinegar". I rescued it before I had a leather egg and calcium acetate.
BUT I discovered that the brown colour is, literally only "skin deep".
Ergo I can now start my Pasche-eggs (pronounced "Pace-eggs) as white eggs, rather than brown.

I've no doubt there will be a valid reason/excuse for all eggs becoming brown, rather than white. But, having discovered that "brown is only skin deep", I think next years Pasche-eggs may be different.

In the unlikely event you're interested - it's all here. 

I've no doubt SOMEBODY knows, but finding which are REALISTICALLY cheaper to produce Brown/White?
The internet doesn't want me to know; it seems more interested in their colour and nutritional values.


. . . "The only real difference between brown and white eggs that you might know as a matter of fact is that brown eggs are more expensive than the white ones."


Maybe THAT'S why I can never find WHITE eggs to dye at Easter?



* ~ * ~ * ~ *


N. B. to self. If you do it again power up the vinegar a fair bit, they don't TASTE pickled enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.