Grunting in Spain

Sometime in the night, the pain in my ribs got suddenly much worse, utter agony when I had to cough. Health post here closed. Priest suggested Villanueva del Fresno, across the border, so off we went, every jerk and sway calling forth grunts and groans... Prescribed internal and topical pain and inflammation relief; if those don't work, to go to hospital in Évora... Also, got new inhalers. Have slept, sitting up, and hoping for improvement. (Hate that I keep posting about my health, but it's been a defining feature of this season, and thought I'd better reassure everyone that I have now seen a doctor.)

These are the famous Iberian pigs, feeding on acorns from the holm oak, taken from the car window (even lifting my camera was agony). Not only is the meat a superb flavour, but the whole system is very ecological - see the link if interested. These pigs were in Spain, but it's the same system this side of the border.

Don't think I'll make the Eucharist tonight - not sure grunting would add to the atmosphere. Shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.