Took the Wrong Turn

What a day.  What a day.

Woke up to beautiful, fluffy snow that was coating everything! Snowed but was so cold that it stayed fluffy and was thick....a real blanket.  By sunrise, I was out of the house and on my way to the woods for about three layers of clothing on.  Do you ever have one of those days when you could happily stay in one place taking photos?  That was me today.  I was there for four hours and then realized that I was still a mum and had to return home  ; )

For anyone who knows birds, this was one bird that I should not have seen today....a Brown Thrasher.  I hope he fairs okay and eventually makes his way south to where he should be.  For this reason, he had to be my main blip.

There were so many birds...an Eastern Towhee, a SawWhet Owl, a Cooper's Hawk, and the usual Cardinals, etc.  At one point, I thought I was going to get lucky and see a Red Tailed Hawk up close.  All the birds fled and I could hear it calling.  How amusing it was to see the culprit...a Blue Jay who mimics the hawk perfectly...and then cleaned up on all the peanuts!  Hilarious!

...and yes, deer.  I saw several nesting so stayed far from them to let them conserve their energy in all the snow.  I did photograph several in the meadow for a change.  In extras, is a little friend I made today.  No name yet has come to mind, but I do love the little dark patch on this one.  Perhaps Patch will do...  Too cute with all the snow  : ))

It was such a good day...sure hope you had the same!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.